Calculate the tuition and qualified expenses you paid for postsecondary education during the tax year. Activity fees, supplies and book fees only qualify if you are required to pay them in order to attend.
Make sure the expenses were for a student in the first two years of schooling after high school. This typically means a college freshman or sophomore.
Verify that the student was in a program leading to a degree, credential or certificate at an accredited educational institution.
Verify that the student took at least half the normal full load of course work for at least one quarter or semester during the tax year.
Make sure the student had never had a drug felony conviction.
Fill out parts 1 and 3 of Form 8863. Unless income limits apply, your credit should be all of the first $1000 and half of the next $1000 of incurred expenses.
|Nevada||New Hampshire||New Jersey|
|New Mexico||New York||North Carolina|
|South Carolina||South Dakota||Tennessee|